Thanksgiving Side: Coconut Corn Muffins

While I was making corn pudding last week, I remembered how much I like corn muffins. Now, I’ve rarely met a muffin I didn’t like, but corn is one of my favorites. I kept thinking about the muffins so the next day, I decided to make a batch using the copycat Jiffy Muffin recipe I found online. There was just one problem: I forgot to add the baking powder. I had always wondered what would happen if I forgot such a crucial ingredient while baking, and, sadly, I now knew the answer. My mistake rendered the muffins hard little clumps that unfortunately went straight into the garbage. Adding insult to injury, I had made a double batch.  So much for satisfying my craving. I didn’t have time to make more that day, but tonight we are having chili, and instead of corn bread, we’ll be having corn muffins as a side.  I tweaked the Jiffy recipe by using white whole wheat flour, coconut oil and half and half.

As you can see from the above photo, I couldn’t wait until dinner to sample the muffins, so I had one with my afternoon coffee. They have a delightful buttery flavor despite the fact that there isn’t any butter in them. I think it’s the half and half and coconut oil.  For those readers who don’t like the taste of coconut, it’s undetectable. And unlike many store bought corn muffins, this version isn’t too sweet, making them an ideal alternative to dinner rolls for your Thanksgiving feast. This recipe only yields six muffins, so if you do make them on Turkey Day, you may want to double the batch.

Coconut Corn Muffins (adapted from Chow.com)

2/3 cup white whole wheat flour

1/2 cup yellow cornmeal

3 tablespoons sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons coconut oil, in liquid form (scoop a tablespoon or so  out of the jar and put it in the microwave for 30 seconds)

1/3 cup half and half

1 egg

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Mix the dry ingredients together. Add the coconut oil and mix until all lumps are gone. Stir in egg and half and half and mix well. Spoon the mixture into muffin cups and bake for 15 minutes. Makes six muffins.

Leave a Reply

