Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

I had a little bit of fresh pumpkin We puree left over from my pie baking expedition and was in the mood for muffins. No surprise there.  I also happen to love pumpkin and chocolate chips together, as evidenced by the bread I made a few weeks ago. A quick perusal of recipes online yielded one that I liked, but it called for more pumpkin than I had on hand. But given that I had applesauce in the fridge, and that it’s a similar consistency to pumpkin puree, I wondered what would happen if I combined the two to equal the one cup I needed? I decided to find out, especially since this was much more fun than the writing deadline I was supposed to be working toward.

I’m happy to say, my little experiment worked and I had a freshly baked snack to go along with my afternoon coffee (and my completed deadline).

Another beverage that goes nicely with pumpkin treats is mulled apple cider. I’ll be honest: as much as I want to like mulled wines or ciders, I can usually only take a sip or two before moving on to something else. They’re just a little too sweet for me, and if I’m going to have a warm drink, I want it to be coffee or hot chocolate. But last week a package of Simply Organic Mulling Spices arrived in my mailbox courtesy of the good people at Mambo Sprouts. I’ve bought Simply Organic spices, taco and chili seasoning before, and enjoyed them all, so I decided to give the mulling spices a try, especially since I still have apple cider in the fridge from our trip to Lyman Orchards. I was pleasantly surprised! Their version has that clovey, spicy fall feel without being overwhelmingly sticky sweet. Look for Simply Organic products at your local supermarket or order the mulling spices online here. Then head over to Mambo Sprouts where you can enter to win their Spice Is Right contest sponsored by Simply Organic and Frontier Spices (also a fabulous organic brand that I use frequently). One grand prize winner will win a set of over 50 unique spices! Two separate winners will get a 10-pack sampler. Click here to enter!

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

1 2/3 cups flour (I used whole wheat)

1 cup sugar

1 tablespoon pumpkin-pie spice

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips

2  large eggs

1 cup (do not use pumpkin-pie filling) canned solid-pack pumpkin (I combined pumpkin puree and apple sauce to equal one cup)

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted

Preheat oven to 350ºF. Line a 12-cup muffin pan with paper muffin cups; spray liners lightly with nonstick cooking spray. In large bowl, mix first six ingredients; add chocolate chips, tossing to coat. In another small bowl, whisk together remaining ingredients; add to flour mixture and stir just until combined (do not overmix). Fill each muffin cup about two-thirds full. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, until muffins spring back when lightly touched. Cool muffins on rack.

3 Comments

  1. Anna said,

    October 21, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    I’m making these this weekend, I love the chocolate chip idea!
    I am not a huge fan of pumpkin pie, so I love that you use pumpkin in other ways!!

    I have even heard you can cut an actual pumpkin in half, cook it in the oven, scrape it out and use that instead of canned pumpkin…

    Thanks for sharing our your delicious recipes!!

    • October 21, 2010 at 10:26 pm

      Hey Anna, yes I roasted a fresh pumpkin to make pie. Try it. It is definitely worth the effort!

      • Anna said,

        October 23, 2010 at 1:50 pm

        Oh yes I just read your pie post and saw you roasted your own! I’m definitely going to give it a try


Leave a Reply

