Cookies With Chocolate Chips, Zucchini and Dried Cranberries

I’ve done a steady stream of baking over the last week. I think it’s because I haven’t been that inspired on the dinner front. Give me flour and sugar however, and the possibilities are endless. I started with a batch of thick and chewy chocolate chip cookies. My best yet. I think it was the farm fresh eggs that I got at the Greenmarket. Then, I threw together a batch of cranberry walnut yogurt muffins. They would have been good except for the fact that I completely overbaked them, which made the muffins very dry.  Yesterday, we went to visit our friends Jim and Nicki at their new house, so I baked another batch of the yogurt chocolate chip mini muffins, only this time I added banana. Delightful. Today, after buying a zucchini at the Greenmarket, I was ready to tackle this recipe for zucchini cookies with chocolate chips and dried cranberries. The recipe appeared on the blog Two Peas and Their Pod but I heard about it from Brown Eyed Baker’s Twitter feed. The zucchini, chocolate, cranberry combo intrigued me, especially because the zucchini makes the cookies moist, which means you don’t need to add a lot of butter. As always, I made a few tweaks. I substituted whole wheat flour and I only added one cup of old fashioned (also known as rolled) oats because that was all I had on hand. I also don’t like a ton of oats in cookies so this worked in my favor.

I couldn’t resist sampling the cookies while they were still warm and I have to say, they’re fantastic. Not too sweet and very moist—everything a cookie should be. I got 17 from my batch, but I made them on the larger side, as you can see from the picture below.

I HIGHLY recommend making these cookies, though you will definitely want to eat more than one! But at least you’ll be getting a vegetable in at the same time, which has to count for something.

Zucchini Cookies with Chocolate Chips and Dried Cranberries

1 ¼ cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/2 cup light brown sugar
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 large egg
1 cup shredded zucchini
2 cups old fashioned oats
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
3/4 cup dried cranberries

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicone baking mat. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, combine butter and sugars, mix until smooth. Add egg and vanilla extract. Next, add the shredded zucchini. Mix until combined.

4. Slowly add flour mixture until just combined. Stir in oats, chocolate chips, and dried cranberries.

Drop cookie dough by heaping tablespoonfuls 2 inches apart onto baking sheets that have been lined with parchment paper or Silcone baking mats.  Bake for 15 minutes or until golden. Remove cookies from pans; cool completely on wire racks.

Makes 2 1/2 dozen cookies

Leave a Reply

