Savory Peach Salad

I saw this salad last month on the blog Pithy and Cleaver. It intrigued me as I was looking for something to make with peaches. I filed it away as a potential dinner and instead made a peach crisp. Then my friend Anne made the same salad and blogged about it and again I thought about making it for Johnny and I one night. Well today I finally wrote down the recipe, went to Whole Foods and the farmers market and got the ingredients I needed to do so. I thought about this salad all day. In fact, I couldn’t wait for dinner time. And oh was it worth it. Wow. There are so many different flavors in the mix—the pepperiness of the arugula, the mintiness of the basil, the sweetness of the peaches, the saltiness of the feta— but yet they all come together beautifully. Johnny thought I could have cut back on the peaches a bit, but I thought it was perfect. I made the same tweaks to the recipe as Anne did, upping the feta to 3/4 cup and the bacon to four strips rather than two.

Oh how I love a good salad! This one also has corn, one of my favorite add-ins. I learned today that there’s no need to cook the corn kernels. If the corn is fresh you can eat them raw, which is a good thing because doing so gives the salad a delightful crunch. If you make no other salad this summer, make this one—and do it before the season for peaches passes.  This picture really doesn’t do it justice. In fact, check out the picture on Pithy and Cleaver’s site which I’ve linked to above and is much better. (I’m still working on this food photography thing.) And spring for a good quality balsamic vinegar. The one I used was aged 10 years. It’s worth it.

Savory Peach Salad

1/2 small sweet onion

2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

1 tablespoon red wine vinegar

2 tablespoons olive oil

Juice of 1/4 lemon

3 ears of corn, shucked

3 peaches (large)

Small bunch arugula

1/2 cup torn basil leaves

4 strips of bacon

3/4 cup cubed feta

Salt and pepper

Slice the onion in quarters and cut into very delicate rings. Place in a small bowl. Add vinegars, olive oil, and lemon juice to the onion bowl, stir and let sit while you prepare the salad, stirring occasionally. Cut corn kernels off the cob into a large salad bowl. Cut peaches in one-inch squares and add to salad bowl. Wash arugula well and add, along with basil leaves. Cook bacon until crisp and crumble or dice. Add bacon and feta to the salad, then the onions and their liquid. Toss well. Add salt and pepper to taste and serve immediately.
Perfect for 2-3 as a main dish, or more as a side.

2 Comments

  1. Mr. Calcaterra said,

    August 25, 2010 at 10:15 am

    Mo’ Bacon, Mo’ Better

  2. Anne said,

    September 7, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    Amazing, yes? I am hoping for it one last time before the peaches are gone. I can still find some poking around SF markets, thank you California!


Leave a Reply

