Chocolate Chip Yogurt Muffins

Yesterday was a rainy dreary day in New York. While I would much rather have been on the beach or in the pool, these delightful muffins made the rain a little more bearable. I’ve been wanting to make chocolate chip muffins and I wanted to do so with yogurt, which not only makes the muffins healthier but also much more moist. A quick google search yielded this recipe from The Fresh Loaf which was quick and easy. I also liked how the there were several options for add-ins. I opted to add in chocolate chips and I made minis because I am currently obsessed with my mini-muffin pan.

After arriving home thoroughly soaked from brunch with my girlfriends and running errands, I promptly plopped down with a cup of coffee and a bite sized treat. Yum! What better way to spend a rainy day?

Chocolate Chip Yogurt Muffins

Heat oven to 375F.

DRY:

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup unbleached flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

OPTIONAL DRY: Add any of these you like to the dry ingredients.

1/2 cup chopped nuts

1/2 cup chocolate chips

3/4 cup blueberries (best added to dry ingredients if frozen, so they don’t clump together)

WET:

1 beaten egg

8 ounces plain or vanilla yogurt (low fat or non-fat, or whole fat, for that matter)

1/4 cup melted butter or margarine

1 tsp. vanilla extract

OPTIONAL WET:

1/2 to 1 cup mashed banana

Combine all dry ingredients (including options) in a large bowl, and wet ones in a smaller bowl. Add wet ingredients to the dry ones. Stir only till moistened.

Fill large or small muffin tins 3/4 full. Bake about 16-18 minutes for large muffins; 12-13 minutes for minis. If you use mashed banana, you may need to bake for another minute or three. You can also sprinkle the tops with cinnamon sugar before baking. They freeze very well.

3 Comments

  1. christie said,

    August 23, 2010 at 11:52 am

    These sound really good. I think I’ll have to try them – with nuts and banana of course, because then (maybe?) they will mimic my all time favorite ice cream – Ben & Jerry’s Chunky Monkey. It’s been a while since I visited with my friend Ben & Jerry! Hopefully these will keep them away that much longer!

  2. August 30, 2010 at 8:32 pm

    […] Then we went to visit our friends Jim and Nicki in their new home, so I baked another batch of the yogurt chocolate chip mini muffins, only this time I added banana. Delightful. Today, after buying a zucchini at the Greenmarket, I […]

  3. November 28, 2010 at 11:44 am

    […] we went to visit our friends Jim and Nicki at their new house, so I baked another batch of the yogurt chocolate chip mini muffins, only this time I added banana. Delightful. Today, after buying a zucchini at the Greenmarket, I […]


Leave a Reply

