Lemon-Lime Mini Muffins

I’ve been on a muffin kick of late. I think it’s because when it comes to breakfast pastries, muffins are my first choice. However, I rarely eat them because they’re usually loaded with sugar, carbs and lots of calories. Thankfully there are many healthy muffin recipes—look for ones that substitute yogurt for larger quantities of butter and oil—that don’t sacrifice taste. This is one of them.  I saw a picture of these muffins on Foodgawker and, since I love to use fresh citrus fruits in my cooking and baking, I was sold. The recipe, which was posted on a blog called The Perfect Pantry,  was surprisingly simple. I didn’t have a mini muffin pan so I promptly went out and bought one. The recipe calls for white whole wheat flour, but I didn’t have any on hand, so I used a cup of whole wheat flour and one cup of all-purpose. I also used plain low-fat organic yogurt rather than Greek. And I forgot to add the vanilla, though this didn’t seem to affect the taste. However, I’ve never eaten the muffins with the vanilla so I am not sure how they would come out had I added it in. Your best bet: if you have vanilla in your cupboard, use it.

I like the idea of bite-size muffins as they make a perfect afternoon snack. They’re also an ideal hostess or housewarming gift. I’m planning on visiting our friends Steve and Emily and their new baby next week and they just might be getting a batch!  I got about 28 muffins from my batter, and I froze half of them for later munching. The little pastries have a tart flavor that’s refreshing. I didn’t add the glaze, but if you like a sweeter muffin, it seems simple enough to prepare. It’s just about snack time. Yum!

Lemon-Lime Yogurt Mufins

2/3 cup sugar
Zest and juice of 1 small lemon
Zest and juice of 1 small lime
2 cups white whole wheat flour (or unbleached all-purpose flour, or half and half)
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
3/4 cup nonfat plain Greek yogurt
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 cup canola oil

For the glaze:
1 cup confectioners sugar
2-3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

Preheat oven to 400°F. Prepare a mini muffin tin with paper liners, or spray with baking spray. In a large bowl, with a rubber spatula, rub together the sugar and lemon and lime zests until the sugar is moist and you can smell the fruit. Whisk in the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

In another bowl or measuring cup, whisk together the lemon juice, lime juice, yogurt, eggs, vanilla and canola oil. Pour the wet ingredients over the dry, and with a rubber spatula gently and quickly stir to blend. Do not overmix. Divide the batter evenly into the muffin cups. Bake for 13 minutes or until the tops are light golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Allow the cupcakes to cool for 5 minutes, then remove from the tin and let cool to room temperature on a wire rack.

Place the rack with the cupcakes over a plate or platter, or over a sheet of wax paper. In a small bowl, whisk together the confectioners sugar with 2 Tbsp lemon juice. Add more lemon juice if needed to get it to a drizzling consistency. Use a spoon to drizzle the glaze over the cupcakes.

1 Comment

  1. christie said,

    August 10, 2010 at 5:03 pm

    These sound great! Do you have a great recipe for muffins using fresh blueberries?


Leave a Reply

