Summer Slaw With Cabbage, Cilantro and Jalapeno

When you hear the word slaw, it’s easy to imagine a gooey mayonnaise-y concoction that lies on your plate in an unappetizing clump. I’ve never been a fan of coleslaw, but Johnny likes it when the mayonnaise isn’t the prominent ingredient. (He, like many people I know, has an aversion to mayo.) I had crab cakes on the menu last night and Johnny asked me if I could make some type of slaw to go with them. I knew red cabbage would be one of the main ingredients but I needed a little more inspiration. A quick google search yielded me a recipe for spicy slaw from a blog called Elana’s Pantry. I liked her version because it called for jalapenos, which I have in my refrigerator right now, and it didn’t require a drop of mayo, relying on olive oil and lime juice to moisten the cabbage and carrots.  A nice light side to our crab cakes.

I got most of my slaw ingredients at the Greenmarket, as well as an abundance of summer bounty—eggplant, zucchini, heirloom tomatoes. Late summer is my favorite time of year at the farmers market. I followed Elana’s slaw recipe pretty closely, though I did substitute the stevia for a teaspoon of organic sugar. I also used regular sea salt, rather than celtic.

The result was a colorful, delicious addition to our meal! I will definitely be making this slaw again! It’s just the right amount of spicy (though if spicy isn’t your speed, simply omit the jalapeno) and the crunch of the cabbage gives it a satisfying texture. The hint of fresh ginger is also a pleasant pop to the taste buds.  If you’re in need of a new side dish, try this one tonight!

Spicy Slaw

½ head purple cabbage, shredded
1 bunch cilantro, finely chopped
1 carrot, grated
1 jalapeño pepper, seeded and minced
1 teaspoon minced ginger
2 limes, juiced
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon sugar
½ teaspoon salt

Place the cabbage, cilantro, carrot, jalapeño and ginger in a large bowl. Toss veggies with lime, olive oil and stevia, then sprinkle with salt. Serve.

Leave a Reply

