No Bake Dessert: Banana Yogurt Pie

When I was a kid, I spent most summer afternoons swimming in the pool in my backyard. My brother and I often had friends over and our mom would whip up some sort of treat for us to snack on mid-swim. Yogurt pie frequently made an appearance. It’s another simple dessert made with just three ingredients: yogurt, whipped topping and graham cracker crust. I thought about yogurt pie the other day and I knew I wanted to blog about it, but the whipped topping was tripping me up. My mother used Cool Whip, and truth be told, I love the stuff. I could—and often have—eat it with a spoon straight from the container. But then I learned that Cool Whip is loaded with chemicals and hydrogenated oil. Yuck. Over the last year or so, I’ve really made an effort to cut processed foods out of our diet, and sadly, Cool Whip had to go. I was considering making my own whipped cream for the pie when I stumbled upon a product called TruWhip. It’s an all-natural whipped topping that doesn’t contain hydrogenated oils, high fructose corn syrup, or trans fats.  Bestill my heart. This was a fabulous find. And when I tasted it and found that it’s even better than Cool Whip, I almost lost my mind. Try it. You might too. (Especially since there’s a coupon on their site for 55 cents off!)

My mom used strawberry yogurt in her pie and a graham cracker crust, but when Whole Foods only had chocolate crusts in stock, I figured I’d change the whole thing up and use Stonyfield Farm’s Banilla yogurt, a mixture of banana and vanilla. I bought the 32 oz container and used a little more than half, but if you’re buying yogurt in 6 oz cups, I’d use three. Mix the yogurt with the entire container of TruWhip (let the whip thaw completely before doing so), pour it all into the pie crust and freeze.

Oh yum. If you can, try to let the pie sit out for 10 minutes or so before serving. The top will become slightly creamier and it’ll be much easier to cut. The banana chocolate combo was a hit and now I’m thinking about making another pie with strawberry yogurt. This is a great dessert to keep in your freezer all summer long. You can just pull it out whenever you have company—or a sweet tooth. And since it’s made with yogurt and whipped topping it’s relatively healthy too!

5 Comments

  1. Brenda Iaquessa said,

    July 30, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    I’m so happy you found an alternative to Cool Whip, We too have cut out processed food from our diet. I find anything now with High Fructose Corn Syrup is a complete turn off to me. Where can I find Tru Whip? I hope Stop and Shop may carry it since I don’t make it out to Whole Foods very often. Hopefully they will finally open one near by house. Thanks for the recipe post, you blog is so much fun to read!

  2. July 30, 2010 at 3:10 pm

    Thanks Brenda! You are so sweet! I checked on the Truwhip site and it looks like Stop & Shop does carry it!

  3. Anne said,

    July 30, 2010 at 3:55 pm

    All these summer desserts, and it is freezing in SF! I am about to go turn on the oven. Still, nice to know it is warm somewhere.

  4. Geraldine said,

    August 5, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    Michelle, I made the yogurt pie this morning. I used raspberry yogurt. Right now it is in the freezer. I will let you know how it comes out. As for the ice box cake, my Mother also put the banans in with the vanilla pudding.

  5. http://gambooge.org/ said,

    January 3, 2013 at 8:42 pm

    I wrote my countertop argument for your own No Bake Dessert:
    Banana Yogurt Pie Made By Michelle over within my
    website if you’d like to find out about it, http://Gambooge.org/.


Leave a Reply

