Spiced Yogurt Muffins

I haven’t baked all week, which was due to a combination of the stifling temperatures outside (who wants to turn on the oven?) and an influx of writing assignments that needed my attention. But today I was in the mood for muffins, especially since the last of the strawberry muffins I made a few weeks ago and froze have now been eaten. Which brings me to another point: freezing baked goods really works! I’ve always been skeptical of this practice—how can something freshly baked still taste as good after being stuck in a freezer for weeks or months? But somehow they still do. I would imagine after a long period of time—six months to a year—the taste might begin to turn, but I froze these muffins a month ago, and every time I took one out and let it defrost, I was amazed at how fresh it still tasted.

This time, I made spiced yogurt muffins, a recipe I found in my Food & Wine cookbook. I substituted whole wheat flour and I didn’t pulse the dry mix in a food processor, opting instead to just stir it with a wooden spoon. I’m not sure if this matters, but the muffins taste delicious. Nicely spiced. Almost like carrot cake, without the carrots.

The yogurt and applesauce make them moist without the use of oil or lots of butter, so they’re healthy too. I’m going to have one for snack as soon as I finish this post and then I will put most of them in ziplock bags before storing them in the freezer for future snack times. Yum!

Spiced Yogurt Muffins

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup light brown sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground allspice

1/2 teaspoon ground cloves

3/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg

2 large eggs, at room temperature

1 1/4 cups plain low-fat yogurt

4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 tablespoon granulated sugar

Preheat the oven to 375°. Line 18 muffin cups with paper or foil liners. Lightly spray the liners with vegetable oil spray. In a food processor, combine the flour, brown sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, allspice, cloves and 1/2 teaspoon of the nutmeg and pulse to blend; transfer to a large bowl. In a medium bowl, whisk the eggs, yogurt, butter, applesauce and vanilla. Fold the yogurt mixture into the dry ingredients until just blended. Spoon the batter into the prepared muffin cups. Sprinkle the granulated sugar and remaining 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg over the muffins. Bake for 18 minutes, until the muffins are springy; let cool in the pans for 5 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack. Serve warm or at room temperature.

3 Comments

  1. hungrysofia said,

    July 17, 2010 at 6:19 pm

    These sound AMAZING!

  2. August 10, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    […] 10, 2010 at 3:54 pm (Cooking) I’ve been on a muffin kick of late. I think it’s because when it comes to breakfast pastries, muffins are my first […]

  3. November 24, 2010 at 11:10 pm

    […] been on a muffin kick of late. I think it’s because when it comes to breakfast pastries, muffins are my first […]


Leave a Reply

