Mango Salsa

Nothing says summer like fruity salsas, and while I enjoy eating mango salsa, I only recently tried my hand at making my own. It wasn’t my best culinary moment. I had never worked with mangoes before and I wasn’t entirely sure how to cube one. I made the mistake of skinning it first and then trying to dice it up, and the result was a soupy, pulpy mess. It tasted good, but was far from photo worthy. Tonight, we’re having cat fish tacos and I wanted to serve them with a light, fresh topping. Mango salsa immediately came to mind, but this time I researched how to properly cube a mango before reaching for my knife. I found a great tutorial on Simply Recipes and after following their directions, my mango emerged perfectly cubed and salsa ready. I also checked out a few mango salsa recipes online and then added a few subtle tweaks. To the cubed mango I added one roma tomato, the juice of one lime, a handful of chopped cilantro, some finely chopped jalapeno (I used about 1/4 to a 1/2 of my pepper) salt, and a pinch of cumin. I thought about adding a drizzle of honey, but the mango is sweet enough on its own. When choosing mangoes for salsa, be sure to pick one that’s slightly soft, but not overly mushy.

I think this will be a welcome addition to taco night!

2 Comments

  1. August 12, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    […] eat them as is. I made a peach tomato salsa a few weeks ago which was pretty good, but we liked the mango version better. Yesterday, I had the itch to bake, especially since Christie and I were discussing […]

  2. Peach Crisp said,

    November 24, 2010 at 11:09 pm

    […] eat them as is. I made a peach tomato salsa a few weeks ago which was pretty good, but we liked the mango version better. Yesterday, I had the itch to bake, especially since Christie and I were discussing […]


Leave a Reply

