Quinoa With Zucchini, Tomato and Mozzarella

Our pantry is well-stocked with grains: quinoa, barley, wheat berry, bulgar wheat, and while I enjoy them all, I find that quinoa is the most versatile—and fastest to prepare. I’ve begun using the superfood as a base in much the same way I’d use pasta. I boil up a batch in chicken broth (it only takes 15 minutes!) and then toss whatever I have on hand into the pot. Today it was zucchini, tomato, garlic scapes and fresh mozzarella. I sauteed the zucchini and scapes while the quinoa cooked, adding a little bit of chopped leeks to the pan as well, since I have a bunch in the fridge from last week’s oat risotto (which I think I will be making again tonight.) When the quinoa was done, I dumped the skillet’s contents into the pot, added the fresh mozzarella, tomato and a handful of fresh parsley and basil. It was a quick, healthy lunch with enough leftovers for the rest of the week.

Haven’t tried quinoa yet? Get to the store, stat! It’s so, so tasty and even better for your body. Instead of pasta tonight, substitute quinoa and add your favorite vegetables, cheese, and/or nuts. (Walnuts, golden raisins and feta is another one of my favorite combos.) Then leave a comment and let me know how you liked it!

3 Comments

  1. Julianne Goodreau said,

    June 30, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    I too love quinoa!! My 2 favorite recipes are: the first to go along with fish tacos…I combine red onion, peppers, and baby tomatoes (all lightly sauteed to soften in EVOO) along with fresh cilantro and garlic. The other one is to go along with grilled chicken or shrimp for the summertime. I chop up scallion, dried apricots and feta cheese with fresh parsley and mint. YUM!! Try one out, they are delish!!

    • June 30, 2010 at 6:15 pm

      The recipe with the dried apricots and mint sounds amazing! I will definitely try that one!

  2. Heather Hutchins said,

    June 30, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    i had quinoa last night for dinner too! you had a much better combo. mine was just broccoli and chicken. i make a bet if you add the quinoa to the sautee pan you’ll retain more of the flavor. try it and let me know if I’m full of it or not 😉 okay back to my presentation for tomorrow!!


Leave a Reply

