Trail Mix Biscotti

As readers of this blog know, I love me some biscotti. I post about it frequently, and it’s one of my favorite afternoon snacks. It has fewer calories than other cookies and it’s the kind of dessert that looks really hard to make but is actually quite simple. (People are always thoroughly impressed when I bring them biscotti, but all you really need is a two hour chunk of time, since they have to cool and then go back into the oven.) Anyway, my friend Monica loved the biscotti favors I made for Heather’s shower, so I offered to make them for her daughter Carson’s graduation party this past weekend. I did cranberry walnut and chocolate chip but I wanted to make a third batch and needed another combo. Hmmm…I took a look at what else I had in my pantry: slivered almonds, chocolate chips, pumpkin seeds (also known as pepitas)…I threw all of them into a bowl, added some dried cranberries and trail mix biscotti was born! For the party, I used white flour, but I made another batch yesterday and I went with whole wheat flour. I was very pleased with the results! The saltiness of the pepitas and the sweetness of the cranberries and chocolate chips made for a delightful combo.

I used Giada DeLaurentiis’ biscotti recipe, substituting whole wheat flour and omitting the lemon zest. Then I added a 1/2 cup each of cranberries, slivered almonds and chocolate chips and 1/4 cup of pepitas. But you can add whatever combo of nuts, dried fruits and seeds you have on hand. Just try to balance the sweet and savory so that you get little bursts of each in every bite. Yum!

1 Comment

  1. Stephanie said,

    June 28, 2010 at 5:40 pm

    Here’s another one I want to make. Wish I was as natural in the kitchen as you are!


Leave a Reply

