Fried Green Tomatoes

I’ve been intrigued by fried green tomatoes since I saw the movie of the same name several years ago. I’ve had them a couple of times, most notably at a restaurant called The Smith in New York. Their version comes in a small cast iron skillet topped with fresh melted mozzarella. Yum! But they’re also sitting in a pool of oil, which I could do without. So when I saw green tomatoes at the farmer’s market last summer, I decided to try making my own. I still fry them, but I use the oil sparingly. I’ve been waiting for green tomatoes to reappear at the farmer’s market this season so I could blog about them, and lo and behold, there they were on Wednesday. The key is to choose firm, almost hard green tomatoes. (If they start to ripen they will be too mushy to withstand the frying.) Don’t you just love the color of these babies?

I’ve read several recipes on how to bread the tomatoes, many of which require less steps than the one I use, but I like this method. The breadcrumb adheres really well and doesn’t slide off once the tomatoes are in the oil.

I was very pleased with the results! We ate the tomatoes with red snapper, salad, and some leftover risotto. Another reason to love summer.

Fried Green Tomatoes

3 medium, firm green tomatoes
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup milk
2 beaten eggs
2/3 cup fine dry bread crumbs or cornmeal
1/4 cup olive oil
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper

Cut unpeeled tomatoes into 1/2 inch slices. Sprinkle slices with salt and pepper. Let tomato slices stand for 15 minutes. Meanwhile, place flour, milk, eggs, and bread crumbs in separate shallow dishes.

Heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a skillet on medium heat. Dip tomato slices in milk, then flour, then eggs, then bread crumbs. In the skillet, fry half of the coated tomato slices at a time, for 4-6 minutes on each side or until brown. As you cook the rest of the tomatoes, add olive oil as needed. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Leave a Reply

