Low Fat Strawberry Muffins

I was on Facebook the other day and I came across a  blog link on my friend Sarah’s page. Turns out it’s her little sister Anna’s blog, whose URL is the very cleverly named cookingannabaking.tumblr.com. How fun is that? Anyway, this recent college grad is seriously accomplished in the baking department. I was not nearly as well-versed in the kitchen when I was 22. I perused through a bunch of her recipes and happened on one for strawberry bread. Strawberries are in season right now and I’ve been wanting to use them for baking, but aside from a cobbler or shortcake, I wasn’t sure what to do with them. Th recipe on Anna’s site was actually for muffins. Strawberry muffins? Why not? I picked up a pint of strawberries at the farmers’ market this morning (along with a bounty of in season produce. Stay tuned for garlic scape pesto!) and got to work. I actually ended up using a different recipe than the one posted on Anna’s blog because I wanted to use up some plain yogurt that I had in the fridge, and I love any recipe that calls for a spice I own but don’t get to use often, like nutmeg. If you make this recipe according to the directions, each muffin has 173 calories, 5 grams of fat, and 29 carbs. Not bad for a muffin, which are usually laden with fat and calories. I substituted whole wheat flour for all-purpose and low fat yogurt for fat-free. I also sprinkled the tops of the muffins with the tiniest bit of sugar.

I am pleased with the results! The muffins are moist and not too sweet, making them perfect for breakfast. Since we still have some cookies left over from Carlie’s party, I think I will freeze them for later snacking.

Strawberry Muffins

1-3/4 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 cup sugar

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

2 eggs, lightly beaten

1/2 cup fat-free plain yogurt

1/4 cup butter, melted and cooled

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1-1/4 cups coarsely chopped fresh or frozen unsweetened strawberries

In a small bowl, combine the first four ingredients. In another bowl, whisk the eggs, yogurt, butter and vanilla. Stir into the dry ingredients just until moistened. Fold in strawberries.

Fill muffin cups coated with cooking spray or lined with paper liners two-thirds full. Bake at 375° for 15-18 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Cool for 5 minutes before removing from pan to a wire rack. Serve warm.

5 Comments

  1. hungrysofia said,

    June 14, 2010 at 3:34 pm

    Love this! Can’t wait to try it this weekend!

  2. July 17, 2010 at 3:05 pm

    […] of writing assignments. But today I was in the mood for muffins, especially since the last of the strawberry muffins I made a few weeks ago and froze have now been eaten. Which brings me to another point: freezing […]

  3. August 10, 2010 at 4:01 pm

    […] 10, 2010 at 3:54 pm (Cooking) I’ve been on a muffin kick of late. I think it’s because when it comes to breakfast pastries, muffins are my first […]

  4. November 24, 2010 at 11:10 pm

    […] been on a muffin kick of late. I think it’s because when it comes to breakfast pastries, muffins are my first […]

  5. November 24, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    […] that needed my attention. But today I was in the mood for muffins, especially since the last of the strawberry muffins I made a few weeks ago and froze have now been eaten. Which brings me to another point: freezing […]


Leave a Reply

