Fresh Cherry Cobbler

As I wrote in yesterday’s Examiner post, cherries are at their peak season right now. Whole Foods is even giving away a pound for free if you spend $25. While I love cherries on their own, I got to thinking that they’d be pretty good in a dessert as well. Since I’ve been on a crisp kick, I googled cherry cobbler and found this recipe from one of my fellow Examiners.  I liked this recipe best because it called for sweet cherries (many of the recipes that came up called for sour ones) and yogurt was used for the crumbly topping. I was pleased with how my pumpkins muffins turned out with yogurt added to the mix, so I will be using this healthy switch whenever possible in my baking. Anyway, as always I did make a few tweaks to the recipe. I used 100 percent whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose, and at the end I only sprinkled one tablespoon of sugar over the biscuit topping, not three. One adequately covered the dough, so why add more sugar if you don’t need to, right? As for the cherries, you need a little more than two pounds to get six cups. I had two pounds and was just shy of filling that last cup, but I used a slightly smaller dish than 13 x 9 so I don’t think it really mattered. Also, make sure you’re wearing either dark clothing or an apron when you pit the cherries. The juice has a tendency to splatter. Pitting the cherries is definitely not the most fun part of making this cobbler, but it’s so worth the effort.

The cobbler just came out of the oven and I did a little taste test (in my usual way of sticking my fork into the corner and pulling off a bit of crumble.)  Delicious! Not too sweet at all and the whole wheat flour gives it a slightly nutty flavor. I’ll try to post pics later. Picnik, the site I use to correct my subpar picture taking skills is down right now, so I want to wait until they’re up and running. But for now, here’s the recipe:

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

6 cups fresh cherries, pitted

2 cups plus 3 Tbsp flour

1/3 cup plus 6 Tbsp sugar

Juice of 1/2 lemon

2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/8 tsp salt

1/3 cup melted butter

2/3 cup plain yogurt

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

In a bowl, mix the cherries, 3 Tbsp flour, 3 Tbsp sugar and lemon juice. Let sit 30 minutes to draw out some of the juices in the cherries. Mix again, then pour into a 9-by-13-inch baking dish that’s been coated with cooking spray.

In a large bowl, stir together the remaining flour, 1/3 cup sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. In a measuring cup, mix the melted butter and yogurt. Stir the yogurt mixture into the flour mixture with a fork until the dough comes together; if it is too dry, add a little more yogurt. When it is just combined, drop it by clumps on top of the cherries. Sprinkle the tops of the biscuit dough with 3 Tbsp sugar. Bake about 45 minutes, until the fruit is bubbling and the biscuits are golden brown. Remove from the oven and let cool on a rack.

Serve at room temperature, with whipped cream or ice cream if desired.

1 Comment

  1. christie said,

    August 10, 2010 at 5:04 pm

    Was it so time consuming to get the pits out of the cherries?


Leave a Reply

