Pumpkin chocolate chip scones

I had leftover pumpkin from the muffins I made earlier this week, and since I had more time to bake this morning, I decided to make pumpkin scones. I used a recipe I found on Brown Eyed Baker’s blog, though I omitted the spiced glaze and added in 1/2 cup of chocolate chip instead. I’m not a huge glaze fan and when I want something sweet, I almost always turn to chocolate. Note: I had more pumpkin than the 1/2 cup the recipe called for and I used it all, which was probably not a good idea. Though the scones taste good, they didn’t rise as well as I would have liked. I think there was too much moisture in the dough.

I would use this recipe again because it’s very simple. You don’t need to pulse the dough in a food processor, and it rolls out relatively easily.

In other food news, I’m now going to be writing a column on Examiner.com about sustainable and locally grown food, which I’m really excited about!  Check out my first post here, and please click on the subscribe button while you’re there. I need to drum up as many readers as possible. 🙂 And if there are any restaurants or local food purveyors in the New York area that you’d like to see featured in the column, please drop me a line at madebymichellec.gmail.com.

1 Comment

  1. Anne said,

    May 24, 2010 at 11:33 am

    Exciting news about the Examiner (and the scones too!) I just had an amazing food experience — we should chat after I have turned the book in.


Leave a comment