Halibut With Capers, Olives and Tomatoes

Halibut is one of my favorite fish dishes, but I almost never prepare it at home, namely because it’s one of the more expensive options at the fish market. However, it was on sale at Whole Foods this week for $12.99/lb. (wild caught to boot) so I decided I could treat us to two thick cut fillets. I had made this recipe a few years ago and since I already had most of the ingredients—including some nicely vine ripened tomatoes—I decided to try it again.  Preparing fish is always risky because it’s so easy to overcook. Johnny  hovered around me as I was pan frying the halibut (he’s been on the receiving end of some of my less-than-stellar seafood moments) but he was very pleasantly surprised at the end result. The halibut was tender and moist and the sauce gave it a savory kick. I didn’t have basil, so I omitted it, which was fine. I also dredged the fish in white whole wheat flour.

 

Tonight I’m making a big batch of the Mar-a-lago turkey burgers that Oprah deemed the best she’s ever eaten. I have to concur. They’re a bit labor intensive (but so worth it) so I usually make them for  summer parties or when I’m bringing dinner to new parents. This time it’s the latter: my cousin Heather and her husband, Jason, welcomed a little boy, William Joseph, last week.  I’m going to visit them tomorrow, cooler bag in tow. Pictures of the burgers to come later! Here’s the halibut recipe, found on Epicurious.com. I stuck with the proportions as written even though we only had two pieces of fish.

Halibut With Capers, Olives and Tomatoes

4 6- to 7-ounce halibut fillets

All purpose flour

4 tablespoons olive oil, divided

2 large shallots, chopped

1/4 teaspoon dried crushed red pepper

4 plum tomatoes, seeded, chopped

1/2 cup chopped pitted Kalamata olives

1/2 cup chopped fresh basil, divided

1 tablespoon drained capers

1/3 cup bottled clam juice

1/4 cup dry white wine

Leave a Reply

