Quinoa With Corn, Cilantro and Black Beans

I had some leftover corn and black beans from last night’s Cinco de Mayo feast, though it wasn’t really enough for both me and Johnny to have as a side. I wondered how the corn and black beans would taste with quinoa and, after a quick search, I was once again inspired by a recipe I found on Epicurious. I boiled a cup of quinoa in 2 cups of chicken broth, and seasoned it with chili powder and cumin. While that was simmering, I sauteed half of a yellow onion, then added the leftover corn and black beans. Once the quinoa was cooked, I added cilantro, then the corn mixture, and topped it with a little shredded cheddar and Monterey Jack. I seasoned it with cayenne, and gave it a couple of squirts of lime.  I have to say, it was delicious! We ate the quinoa with boneless buffalo wings and salad. I love when leftovers come together for a healthy, tasty encore.

I have an update on the corn fritters I wrote about yesterday as well. They came out good (they were fried, after all) but I think a few tweaks to the recipe are in order. First, if you use frozen corn, as I did, you need to let it thaw before you make the batter. Otherwise it doesn’t blend well at all.  Second, if the batter is too dry, add an extra egg. There wasn’t enough stickiness to hold the kernels together. The cilantro dip however, was fantastic. Christie made it too and used it as salad dressing, a tip we tried tonight.  It was a refreshing complement to the spiciness of the boneless wings. I think I will be adding it to my regular rotation!

Leave a Reply

