Baby Dress

One of my first posts on MBM was about a baby dress I was making for my husband’s goddaughter, Noelle. Dresses are not a mindless knit. They take a lot of concentration, which is why I’ve been working on this project in between others. But I finally decided that if I wanted Noelle to be able to wear the dress while it still fits her, I needed to get my needles in gear. I really love this pattern, which was written by one of the women who work at my favorite yarn shop, Downtown Yarns. I knit it once before, for my friend Pam’s daughter, Julia, but this time I chose malabrigo sock yarn in eggplant. Malabrigo is hand-dyed wool and I love the subtle variations of color throughout.

Truth be told, this is only the front of the dress. I’m still working on the back panel, but just as I was about to start the neckline, I ran out of yarn and had to order more. You can get the general idea though of how it will drape.

The detailing of the bodice is done using a yarnover, P2tog, followed by an inch of seed stitch and then another yarnover row. Simple, yet stunning.

I am contemplating selling these dresses, so if you are interested, please contact me at madebymichellec@gmail.com or leave a comment here and we can discuss.

1 Comment

  1. christie said,

    April 28, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    absolutely stunning!


Leave a Reply

