Seared Scallops

Scallops rank high on my list of seafood options, but I hardly ever order them in a restaurant. In my experience, the price versus the serving size is almost never worth it.  Case in point: We went to The Redhead one cold winter’s night a few months back and I ordered the scallops. Price: $22. Number of scallops: 3. That’s right. Three medium-sized scallops. With a “side” that amounted to not much more than a drizzling of sauce.

Since then, I’ve avoided ordering the mouth-watering mollusks in restaurants, but I do make them at home quite often, especially now that the weather is getting warmer. I picked up a pound (on sale!) at Whole Foods today, and I brushed both sides with olive oil and sprinkled them with salt, pepper, cayenne, onion powder, and saffron. They went onto my sizzling hot grill pan for about 4 minutes on each side.

We ate the scallops over salad along with some quinoa. Delicious!

 

On an unrelated note, if you need help getting your fridge in order, check out my article in InStyle this month on doing just that. It’s on page 332. Or click on the link below to read it in PDF form.

Organizing Your Fridge

Still need to tackle your spring cleaning? Read some of the surprising tips I uncovered here: Spring Cleaning Challenge.

Leave a Reply

