Blueberry Cinnamon Muffins

After a gloriously sunny day yesterday, we awoke this morning to the peaceful sound of rain drops hitting our window. Sounds like a perfect day for knitting, cooking, and catching up on my DVR’d shows. To kick things off, I made these blueberry & cinnamon muffins, a recipe from my friend Anne Zimmerman. Anne and I met a few years ago, as she has written many articles for a career and lifestyle site I edit called WORKS By Nicole Williams. We immediately clicked over our shared love of words, food, and knitting.  And though we live on opposite sides of the country, we’ve stayed in touch over email and try to get together whenever she’s in New York. (I haven’t been back to San Francisco in several years, and I’m thinking I need to do something about that soon.) Anne’s currently writing a book on the famed food writer, MFK Fisher, and I cannot wait to read it.

Back to the muffins. These are a perfect hostess gift for a brunch at someone’s home, or an easy way to add a touch of sweetness to your morning. I’ve made this recipe as written below and the muffins were delicious, but this morning I made a few substitutions. I didn’t have whole milk, so I used half and half. I also wanted to see how they would taste with white whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose. Delightful!

I enjoyed a muffin with my coffee, which I drank out of the mug my husband bought me when he went to Martha’s Vineyard soon after we began dating.

 

Blueberry & Cinnamon Muffins

¾ stick (6 tablespoons) unsalted butter, melted and cooled
1 cup packed light brown sugar
½ cup whole milk
1 large egg at room temperature
1½ cups all-purpose flour
1½ teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon cinnamon
½ teaspoon salt
1½ cups blueberries

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Put liners in 12-cup muffin pan. Whisk together butter, brown sugar, milk, and egg in a bowl until well combined. Whisk together flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt in a large bowl. Add milk mixture and stir until just combined. Fold in blueberries very gently.

2. Divide batter among muffin cups. For larger muffins use only 9 of the 12 cups. Bake until a wooden pick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean, about 20 to 25 minutes.

1 Comment

  1. Anne said,

    April 26, 2010 at 10:59 am

    This is so funny — I saw the headline to your post and thought “ohhh I have the best blueberry cinnamon muffin recipe….” Clearly I already shared it with you! They are yummy — I had another friend call them the perfect blueberry muffin.


Leave a Reply

