Almond Parsley “Fried” Chicken

I have a love/hate relationship with chicken. I like to eat it because it’s healthy and tastes good, but I really hate touching it, pounding it, or anything else that’s required to prepare it. But there’s only so many meats out there that I’ll eat, so more often then not, chicken is on the menu. Tonight I’m making an adaptation of a “fried” chicken recipe I found in The South Beach Diet Cookbook several years ago. The breading is actually composed of chopped almonds and a little bit of bread crumb, and when baked at 400 degrees, it develops a nice crunchy consistency that mimics a piece of fried poultry. For my breading, I finely chop  fresh parsley and almonds, (about a 1/4 cup of each, but eyeball it so that you have enough for the amount of chicken you’re making) and then add whole wheat panko breadcrumb (about 1/4 cup) a clove of garlic, and salt and pepper. I coat the chicken in olive oil, roll it in the mixture, and then bake, uncovered, for 30 minutes. Tonight I also topped the chicken with grated romano cheese.

 

Whole Foods has had an incredible selection of artichokes lately, as they’re currently in season, so along with the chicken we had steamed artichokes, a beet and feta salad, and some leftover quinoa with feta, walnuts, and golden raisins.

On another note, I made a second batch of the chocolate chip cookies I baked last weekend and let me point out that it is never a good idea to bake while talking on the phone. I accidentally threw the eggs in with sugar before I had beat in the melted butter and it totally changed the texture of the dough. I could barely get the cookies to hold together and the chips all sunk to the bottom of the bowl. They taste OK (they’re comprised of chocolate chips, butter and sugar after all) but aren’t nearly as good as my first batch. Lesson learned!

1 Comment

  1. sarah morgenstern said,

    April 22, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    wow that looks and sounds delic!! I think you need your own cooking show!


Leave a Reply

