Homemade Hummus

We had a wonderful evening on Saturday celebrating Tiffany’s birthday. I was especially delighted when Tiff’s husband, Chris, told me about some of the vegetables he’ll be growing this summer. As readers of this blog know, I’ve become very passionate about where the food we eat comes from and I try to shop seasonally and organically whenever possible. Anytime I’m in the company of someone who shares this philosophy, I can go on for hours swapping tips and recipe ideas. We’ve been house hunting not far from where Tiffany and Chris live, and once we eventually make the move to the burbs, I’m really looking forward to growing our own food. Who knows? We may have our own little farm share someday!

Anyway, Chris also told me that their 16-month old son, Connor, often eats homemade hummus for a snack (now there’s a child who is being raised with good eating habits!) We’re big fans of the garlicky dip too, so I asked Chris for his recipe. I used 2 tbsp of lemon juice instead of a fresh lemon, and I added a little more tahini than the recipe called for. It came out great:

I even spread some on the open faced turkey sandwich I had for lunch, in lieu of mayo:

Next time I may experiment with chopped olives or roasted red peppers. But as is, this hummus makes for a delicious, healthy snack. Thanks Grasso!

Homemade Hummus

1 15 oz can of chickpeas, drained, with juice reserved
1/4 cup of  chickpea juice
2 tbsp of lemon juice (or the juice of one fresh lemon)
1 large clove of garlic
2 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp tahini (I added more tahini to taste)
Blend all ingredients in a food processor or blender for three minutes or until creamy.
7 Comments

  1. Grasso said,

    April 19, 2010 at 3:37 pm

    Awesome! I’m glad it worked out. We actually just finished up the last batch for lunch today, so will be making more later today. I have some eggplant I need to use, so I may try some variation of a babaganoush.

  2. christie said,

    April 19, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    Sounds great. I love some good hummus myself! Can’t quite get Carlie to eat it yet.

  3. June 21, 2010 at 10:19 am

    […] a warm weather, outdoor gathering. Plus, many of my favorite recipes fall into this category. Like hummus and pita chips, which I’ve written about on this blog before. While you can definitely buy […]

  4. July 22, 2010 at 9:37 am

    […] want it to go to waste. I made pita chips from it and then whipped up a batch of my usual hummus, only this time I threw some green olives and their juice into the mix. Wow! I really like olive […]

  5. Olive Hummus said,

    November 24, 2010 at 11:14 pm

    […] want it to go to waste. I made pita chips from it and then whipped up a batch of my usual hummus, only this time I threw some green olives and their juice into the mix. Wow! I really like olive […]

  6. November 26, 2010 at 6:31 pm

    […] a warm weather, outdoor gathering. Plus, many of my favorite recipes fall into this category. Like hummus and pita chips, which I’ve written about on this blog before. While you can definitely buy […]


Leave a Reply

