Healthy Carb: Garlic Cauliflower Mash

Christie’s in-laws are coming for the weekend and she asked me to recommend a side dish for the lobster tails she’ll be serving while they’re in town. I initially told her to go with a garlic mashed potato, but when she said she wanted to keep things on the healthier side, I remembered that cauliflower makes an excellent substitution for spuds. I first heard of whipped cauliflower  when The South Beach Diet was popular several years ago, and I was surprised to find how closely cauliflower mimicked the taste of potatoes. I hadn’t made cauliflower in a long time and I found myself wondering how they would taste prepared the same way I do a garlic mash. Christie suggested I get on that—and then share my findings with her—so tonight I made crab cakes, with garlic cauliflower mash as a side. I bought a head of cauliflower, cut it into florets, and steamed it in a steamer basket until it was tender, about 10 minutes. I then put the florets in my mini Cuisinart in batches (if you have a full-size Cuisinart, they’ll probably all fit at once) added a little bit of heavy cream and pureed them until they were the consistency of potatoes. I used heavy cream because I had some left over from my ricotta pie, but you could use half and half or even milk. I then added chopped garlic, salt, pepper, and Johnny’s Garlic Spread & Seasoning. I chopped up a bit of parsley, just to give the cauliflower some color, but you could easily omit this. Here is the finished product:

If I hadn’t told you otherwise, you’d probably think these were potatoes, right? They certainly tasted as good as their carb-heavy counterparts. The fresh garlic melded so well with the cauliflower, and the cream gave it a smooth consistency. A perfect side to seafood, or just about anything else. And since I saved on the carbs, I gladly helped myself to one of the mini mint ice cream sandwiches that my friend Jessica brought to knitting group last week. Yum!

2 Comments

  1. christie said,

    April 14, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    Thanks girl, you are the best! They look so tasty. Can’t wait to make them this weekend. Your readers should know that you take requests – as long as it is something you luv to eat 🙂 And I should mention that you are very prompt with feedback. I appreciate quick responses, but you already knew that 🙂

  2. christie said,

    April 14, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    PS Where can I get that seasoning – tomorrow?


Leave a Reply

