Skirt Steak Tacos

I had a couple of nicely ripened avocados (they’re on sale for $1 each at Whole Foods right now) so I decided I’d make tacos tonight. We love them with ground turkey, but I wanted to spice things up a bit, especially since the new issue of Food & Wine is filled with delightful taco recipes, including one for chile-spiced skirt steak. I’d never made steak tacos before and decided I’d give it a try. I’m so glad I did because they were delicious! I marinated the meat for two hours and it was tender and flavorful.  This recipe calls for sweet paprika, but I couldn’t find such a thing, so I used regular paprika. It also called for two different kinds of chili powder: ancho and chipotle. Whole Foods didn’t have either, and I have no idea where else I’d find them, so I just used plain old chile powder (actually I believe it was valle de sol), which seemed to work just fine.

Johnny grilled the steak in our cast iron skillet (now soaking in very hot water to remove the caked on marinade residue) which gave the steak a nice charred exterior, while the inside remained juicy:

Once we removed it from the heat, we let the steak sit for 10 minutes. I then sliced it on an angle into thin strips:

We  ate the tacos topped with fresh salsa and guacamole I made, corn and cheese. A Romaine salad and Garden of Eatin’s Red Hot Blues chips rounded out the meal:

I will definitely be adding these to my Cinco de Mayo menu! Here is the recipe:

Chile-Spiced Skirt Steak Tacos

2 teaspoons sweet paprika

1 teaspoon ancho chile powder

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon onion powder

1 teaspoon light brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon chipotle chile powder

1/4 teaspoon ground cumin

1/4 teaspoon ground coriander

1 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper

1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons fresh lime juice

1 teaspoon vegetable oil

1 1/2 pounds skirt steak, cut into 5-inch strips

12 corn tortillas, warmed

In a large resealable plastic bag, combine the spices. Add the lime juice and oil and shake the bag to blend. Add the steak and seal the bag. Let the steak stand at room temperature for 2 hours. Light a grill or preheat a grill pan. Grill the steak over moderately high heat, turning twice, until lightly charred on the outside, and medium-rare within, about 10 minutes. Transfer the steak to a work surface and let rest for 10 minutes. Thinly slice the steak and serve with tortillas.

1 Comment

  1. christie said,

    April 12, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    Does your hubby know how good he has it? Hell, when it comes to dinner time, I wish I was your husband. YUM.


Leave a Reply

