Bacon-Wrapped Dates

I haven’t posted much this week because it’s been a busy one. I’ve been working on an essay for Redbook which is due tomorrow, I’ve been furiously trying to finish a knitting project (I’ll post pictures next week) and I’ve been working on another food-themed project, which I’ll also reveal at a later date. Sorry to be so secretive!

Tonight, however, I’m hosting knitting group at my apartment, and one of the appetizers I’m making is bacon-wrapped dates. These are so simple and always a crowd pleaser. The saltiness of the bacon melds perfectly with the sweetness of the dates.

Here’s what you need:

A package of bacon (preferably nitrate-free)

A container of pitted dates

You can also stuff the dates with cheese or almonds but I’m going to leave them unstuffed tonight, because I’m also doing a cheese plate, and frankly, I’ve eaten enough cheese this week with all of our Easter leftovers to last me for months. Anyway, to make this appetizer, slice the stripes of bacon into thirds cross wise and wrap each piece around one of the dates. Place seam side down on a cookie sheet and bake at 450 degrees until bacon is crispy, about 15-20 minutes, turning once. Drain on paper towel or parchment paper, and insert a toothpick into each date, before serving.

 

5 Comments

  1. Anne said,

    April 8, 2010 at 3:24 pm

    I do love them stuffed with blue cheese (or an almond!)

  2. christie said,

    April 8, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    These sound GREAT. I think this is something that I will be trying in the near future. Have fun at your knitting group tonight.

  3. Kirsten said,

    April 12, 2010 at 6:26 pm

    Ah these sound delicious! Next time!

  4. June 21, 2010 at 10:19 am

    […] another appetizer, I made bacon-wrapped dates, which are always a crowdpleaser—Heather’s guests kept coming up to me and telling me how […]

  5. November 26, 2010 at 6:32 pm

    […] another appetizer, I made bacon-wrapped dates, which are always a crowdpleaser—Heather’s guests kept coming up to me and telling me how […]


Leave a Reply

