How Many Large Eggs Does a Jumbo Egg Make?

I have a craving for baked goods today, and in keeping with Michael Pollan’s assertion that it’s OK to eat junk food that you make yourself—and as a way to procrastinate on the personal essay I’m supposed to be writing—I decided to whip up a batch of almond chocolate chip biscotti. But as I was halfway through the process, I remembered that the recipe calls for two large eggs and I only had jumbo sized in my refrigerator. One of my favorite cooking blogs, Smitten Kitchen, has a handy list of conversions, which is where I learned that a large egg measures out to approximately 1 tbsp of yolk and 2 tbsp of whites. I separated one of the jumbos, but spooning out the egg whites was a bit difficult. A whole clump of them slid off the tablespoon and into the sink. I used two jumbos to get what I needed, and put the remaining bit of yolk in the fridge, where I’ll use it tomorrow to make scrambled eggs. I think the conversion worked. The dough was slightly crumblier than usual but once I shaped it into a log, it held together. The log just came out of the oven to cool. As you can see below, it looks pretty good. Actually, this isn’t a great picture. Next on the agenda is to buy a good camera. Suggestions welcome.

The biscotti should be finished in time for me to eat with my late afternoon cup of coffee. One of life’s great joys, in my book.

5 Comments

  1. christie said,

    March 25, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    Have you read In Defense of Food? If you own it can I borrow it? The cookies look so yummy. I’ve already had two cups of coffee today, otherwise I’d be having my afternoon caffeine treat too 🙂

  2. Steph said,

    March 26, 2010 at 10:22 am

    Yummmm. I’ve made a vow to myself that I will learn how to bake as soon as I move into my new apartment. I might be calling you for this recipe!! Also, I might need to have you on stand by via texts so I don’t blow up the kitchen. Do you ever make scones or biscuits?

  3. June 28, 2010 at 9:47 am

    […] 2010 at 9:47 am (Cooking) As readers of this blog know, I love me some biscotti. I post about it frequently, and it’s one of my favorite afternoon snacks. It has fewer calories than other cookies and […]

  4. November 28, 2010 at 5:07 pm

    […] readers of this blog know, I love me some biscotti. I post about it frequently, and it’s one of my favorite afternoon snacks. It has fewer calories than other cookies and […]


Leave a Reply

