Easy Salsa and Guacamole

I’m happy to report that I learned a lot about the proper way to slice an onion, celery and a carrot last night at the knife skills class Monica and I took. (Monica was a superstar BTW.) Unfortunately, I don’t have any pictures from the actual class (it was a small group and I thought it might be a bit distracting to start snapping pictures. Plus, I really needed to concentrate on what I was doing. Dicing is not easy.) Anyway, now that I know the right way to hold the knife and I’ve sort of grasped the high and low techniques, I still need some practice. But instead of just mindlessly chopping onions, I wanted to hone my new skills and prepare dinner at the same time. I had a bunch of cilantro in the fridge left over from Monday night’s veggie burgers, so I decided we’d have turkey tacos tonight and I’d make salsa and guacamole to go with them. Plenty of chopping there. Surprisingly, I’ve never made guacamole from scratch.  I’ve used a mix before (just add avocados!) but I usually just buy Trader Joe’s guac, which is tasty and reasonably priced. My friend Liz had given me her guacamole recipe a few weeks ago—after expressing shock at my admission to never having made the stuff myself— and I called her while I was at Whole Foods today to get the ingredients. I’m glad I did, because as always, Liz did not lead me astray. Her version of guacamole is super simple to make and so tasty. (Johnny practically ate the whole bowl with Garden of Eatin’s Red Hot Blues chips before the taco meat was finished.) Per Liz’s instructions, I mashed up one avocado and added half of a Roma tomato, half of a yellow onion, a couple of tbsps of lime juice, a little cayenne pepper, and a few sprigs of cilantro, finely diced.

In a second bowl, I diced up half a red onion, 4 or 5  Roma tomatoes and some cilantro. I added salt, a tbsp of cumin, and a pinch of cayenne pepper to give the salsa some kick.

The end result: Delightful! And I’m happy to report my knife skills aren’t too shabby either, though I bet the grapefruit I hacked up earlier today would probably disagree.

6 Comments

  1. christie said,

    March 25, 2010 at 6:59 am

    That sounds like a really good dinner. I love some good guac!

  2. March 30, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    You have to try the guacamole kit at Trader Joes! It’s cheap and has everything you need in a little plastic box.

  3. May 5, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    […] for cilantro dip on Epicurious which I’m also going to make. We’ll also have chips with fresh guacamole and salsa and then for the main course, skirt steak and grilled-chicken tacos, both recipes adapted from Food […]

  4. August 31, 2010 at 10:32 pm

    […] ate the tacos topped with fresh salsa and guacamole I made, corn and cheese. A Romaine salad and Garden of Eatin’s Red Hot Blues chips rounded […]

  5. November 28, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    […] for cilantro dip on Epicurious which I’m also going to make. We’ll have chips with fresh guacamole and salsa and then for the main course, skirt steak and grilled-chicken tacos, both recipes adapted from Food […]

  6. November 28, 2010 at 8:41 pm

    […] ate the tacos topped with fresh salsa and guacamole I made, corn and cheese. A Romaine salad and Garden of Eatin’s Red Hot Blues chips rounded […]


Leave a Reply

