Is It a Veggie Burger Or a Falafel?

My husband is a big fan of veggie burgers. Me? Not so much. If I’m going to eat a burger, I want the real thing, though I do enjoy a good turkey burger. Anyway, Johnny asked me if I would make veggie burgers for dinner sometime, so I consulted my go to online recipe source, Epicurious.com, for help. I found this recipe for Bulgur Veggie Burgers with Lime Mayonnaise last year, and have made them several times, much to Johnny’s—and my—delight. The end result is more falafel than burger, so I usually roll with the Middle Eastern theme and serve them in mini pitas for an incredibly tasty, protein packed meal. I won’t lie: this is not a quick and easy dinner. Making the patty mixture is kind of time consuming and calls for advanced planning since the burgers need to chill for at least an hour before cooking. Otherwise they tend to fall apart. I’d recommend making these burgers on a weekend and then refrigerating or even freezing the patties until you’re ready to eat them. Though the recipe says it yields four, I easily get double that amount. The mixture is often really sticky, so I usually add whole wheat panko breadcrumb to the mix (plain bread crumb would work too). I usually substitute the pinto beans for lentils, though for tonight’s batch, I used black beans, which promises to be pretty tasty. (Since there’s nothing raw in the patty mixture I sampled it and am very excited to eat the burgers later tonight!) Also, don’t skip the lime mayo. It adds A TON of flavor to the burgers. Johnny hates mayonnaise, but he’ll eat it with lime, probably because the tart sweetness  masks the taste of the mayo. The patties are in the fridge as I type this and I think I’ll cook them in my cast iron skillet tonight. I usually use a grill pan, but I love any excuse to fire up my skillet. A salad and some steamed broccoli will round out the meal. Yum!

 

 

2 Comments

  1. March 25, 2010 at 8:46 am

    […] at the same time. I had a bunch of cilantro in the fridge left over from Monday night’s veggie burgers, so I decided we’d have turkey tacos tonight and I’d make salsa and guacamole to go […]

  2. November 26, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    […] at the same time. I had a bunch of cilantro in the fridge left over from Monday night’s veggie burgers, so I decided we’d have turkey tacos tonight and I’d make salsa and guacamole to go […]


Leave a Reply

