Beautiful Beets

I stopped into the market today on my way home from a meeting, and to my delight, there was a display of organic loose beets for the buying. (I love loose beets. Much easier to carry home when they’re sans chard.)  The beets are roasting in the oven now. After I peel and slice the cooked beets, I’ll refrigerate them for a couple of hours before adding them to a salad of baby romaine, crumbled feta, red onion, and homemade croutons, lightly dressed with balsamic vinegar and olive oil. This is one of my favorite salad combos. We eat salad pretty regularly in our house, but as the weather gets warmer I find myself craving hearty salads and am always looking for new ideas. What’s your favorite salad combination?

Oh and lest I sound like someone who survives on lettuce for dinner, that delightful aforementioned salad will be served with an equally delicious pizza since I’ve got an extra crust in the fridge. Tonight I’ll top it with fresh mozzarella, pesto, grilled chicken and roasted red peppers, a pairing I adapted from Lunasa, a bar in our neighborhood. A quick and easy meal—just one of the many reasons I love pizza night!

Photo courtesy of Nashville Scene

1 Comment

  1. March 18, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    I’m back and forth on beets…with a lot of goat cheese, they’re delish!


Leave a Reply

