Tasty Turkey Burgers

OK, so I’ve decided to postpone the turkey burgers until tomorrow night. The warm weather and still sunny skies (thank you Daylight Savings!) has us longing for open air dining, so Johnny and I are headed over to one of our favorite neighborhood restaurants, Yuca Bar, for Loco Tuesdays. Half priced drinks and tapas! But just in case any of you are having a turkey craving, the best recipe I’ve ever come across for these better for you burgers comes from Donald Trump’s Mar-a-lago resort. No, I’ve never been to Mar-a-lago, but Oprah has, and she featured these burgers on her show because she also loves them.  They are fantastic. Seriously. I debuted them two years ago at a 4th of July party I had (coincidentally, the same weekend I got engaged, but I digress) to my guests’ delight, and I made them for Christie and her husband when I went to Rochester to visit after Carlie was born. The only drawback is that they’re a bit labor intensive (and if anyone finds a store that carries chipotle tabasco please write me and let me know. Or better yet, pick me up a bottle.) so I usually only make them for parties. For weekly turkey burger dinners, I stick with a basic recipe of ground turkey, salt, pepper, chopped fresh parsley and diced onions. I mix it all together, form the meat into patties and grill. I top the burgers with a little white cheddar and serve on a sesame wheat bun.

Oh and Whole Foods had artichokes! We’ll be having those tomorrow night too. A green vegetable in honor of St. Patty’s Day!

1 Comment

  1. March 22, 2010 at 6:06 pm

    […] courtesy of Epicurious.com Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Tasty Turkey BurgersVeggie BurgersI am not a morning personVeggie Burgers: Quinoa and Kidney […]


Leave a Reply

