My Name in Print

The first time my name appeared in a national magazine was in 2000. I was a senior in college and an intern at Teen People. The magazine had a section called Trendspotter of the Month, where we’d profile a teen who had done something cool or extraordinary, and I got to write the one that appeared in the March issue. It was such a thrill to see my name in print and, despite the fact that over the past 10 years I’ve been lucky enough to have written tons of magazine articles, I still get that same swelling of pride when I see my byline. A feeling which occurred moments ago when I opened the latest issue of InStyle (the one with Gwen Stefani on the cover) to find two articles I had reported and written. (They’re on page 268 and 308 just in case you were wondering.) One is about fun ways to use color in your home (if you love hot pink, but can’t imagine it on your walls, paint the inside of your cupboards) the other is filled with tips and tricks to spring cleaning (did you know that a tennis ball can remove scuff marks from a floor?) Pick up a copy if you get a chance!

And check back later for a post on tonight’s dinner of healthy boneless buffalo wings. The secret: the “breading” is actually made from Fiber One cereal, a recipe I adapted from Hungry Girl.

3 Comments

  1. cousin sue said,

    March 15, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    i remember when that came out…i found a copy at the po and showed all my fellow carriers that my cousins name was there 🙂

  2. christie said,

    March 15, 2010 at 3:22 pm

    Congrats on the new articles. I will be sure to check them out. Can’t wait for the recipe!


Leave a Reply

