Healthy Boneless Buffalo Wings

I found this recipe on the Hungry Girl website a few years ago, and it’s definitely worth trying. The wings come out crispy, yet they’re baked, not fried. I usually serve them over salad with a dollop of blue cheese dressing. I bought some potatoes at the Greenmarket, so I made garlic mashed potatoes as a side tonight.

To make this meal, I cut up two chicken breasts into nugget-sized pieces. I then made the “breading” which consists of Fiber One Cereal (Original) which I ground into a bread crumb like consistency in my Cuisinart food chopper. I ground up a handful of Cape Cod 40% Reduced Fat potato chips and added it to the Fiber One mixture. I sprinkled cayenne pepper, salt, pepper, onion powder, and ground mustard onto the breading (I don’t use measurements with this recipe. I just eyeball it and make enough breading for the amount of chicken I have.) I rolled the chicken bits in hot sauce (tonight I used Frank’s Red Hot) then coated them with the breading. I put them on a baking sheet and baked them at 375 degrees for 20 minutes, flipping once at the 10 minute mark.

These white coating trays are from The Pampered Chef. I love them! They make breading chicken so much easier because they all clip together. The chicken goes from one dish to another, then into the oven. And the trays are dishwasher safe.

The finished product, which we ate atop Romaine lettuce and homemade croutons. A delightful dish indeed.

3 Comments

  1. christie said,

    March 15, 2010 at 8:43 pm

    wow! those look amazing!

  2. May 6, 2010 at 9:19 pm

    […] and gave it a couple of squirts of lime.  I have to say, it was delicious! We ate the quinoa with boneless buffalo wings and salad. I love when left overs come together for a healthy, tasty […]

  3. November 26, 2010 at 6:43 pm

    […] and gave it a couple of squirts of lime.  I have to say, it was delicious! We ate the quinoa with boneless buffalo wings and salad. I love when leftovers come together for a healthy, tasty […]


Leave a Reply

