Lasagna Love

As you may have gathered by now, I love Italian food. I love to cook it, I love the smell of it in my kitchen, and of course, I love to eat it. As my mother used to say, everything tastes better with a little sauce and cheese on it. While that may be true, Italian food is also a complete carb fest, so I’m always trying to come up with ways to make the staples a bit healthier. One trick I rely on frequently is substituting beef or pork with turkey meat. Tonight I made lasagna with turkey sausage and ground turkey. While I used full fat ricotta and fresh mozzarella, we definitely saved some calories on the turkey switch, which was also super tasty. (I used Shady Brook Farms Hot Turkey Sausage and ground turkey meat from Trader Joe’s). I defrosted some of the marinara sauce that I made last week and went to work. Once the lasagna came out of the oven, I let it sit for about 40 minutes so that it wouldn’t turn into a big soupy mess when I cut into it. It stayed together, but it wasn’t as warm as I wanted it to be. So I need to work on that. This lasagna was actually a trial run. I am thinking of serving it when I host Easter dinner next month, and I want to work out the kinks now. Luckily, it tasted great, which is always a plus when you’re serving a meal to others. Johnny and I enjoyed the lasagna with garlic bread, and a salad of romaine, red onions and homemade croutons lightly dressed with balsamic vinegar and olive oil. Some friends over at R Stuart & Co. Winery sent me a few bottles of their wines for a project I am helping them with, so a glass (or two) of their Autograph Pinot Noir completed the meal. Now, with a full stomach, it’s time for the Oscars!

3 Comments

  1. christie said,

    March 8, 2010 at 6:53 am

    yummy!

  2. Anne said,

    March 9, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    oh, wish I could have been there for that one. That wine is so good! Yes, I am completely biased, but…

  3. March 17, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    […] likely I’ll serve lasagna as the main course, but I was worried about the temperature of the lasagna I made a few weeks ago. So I sought out my arsenal of experts. In this case, it was […]


Leave a Reply

