The Key to Casting-On

One of the first things you’ll learn if you ever take a knitting lesson is how to cast-on stitches. You can’t knit if you don’t have a cast-on row because the yarn would have no way of attaching itself to the needle. But casting-on can be tricky, especially the Double Cast-On method, which is what I was taught when I took classes several years ago. At first I was like, I’ll never be able to do this, but once you get the hang of it, it just clicks.  A lot of people use the Single Cast-On, but I find that it doesn’t create as tight of an edge as I would like. In any case, while it can be tricky, you gotta learn how to do it. Otherwise you’ll never be able to start a project on your own. I’ve taught many a new knitter how to cast-on, and last night at knitting group, I gave my fabulous friend Sarah a quick refresher. (In addition to being a generally fantastic person, Sarah also lent me her photography skills by taking the product shots of MBM accessories that are on this blog. She also took the photos below last night).

Once Sarah felt comfortable with casting-on I taught her how to knit in the round, a technique used for knitting hats. She’s making a slouchy style cap, and though we didn’t have a pattern, I think I came up with one that will work. All in all, it was a fun evening at Jessica’s with yummy eats. (Grape leaves, dill dip and spanakopita, oh my!) The peanut butter oatmeal chocolate chip cookies were also a huge hit.  And while they may be addictive, Jess, I promise they don’t contain crack. 🙂

5 Comments

  1. christie said,

    March 5, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    I think I may have forgotten how to cast on. I may need a refresher if I ever know something again.

  2. christie said,

    March 5, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    I meant knit something…

  3. March 5, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    […] you saw my friend Michelle’s post, you’ll know that I had to re-learn how to cast on.  Yes, that’s […]

  4. March 10, 2010 at 10:34 pm

    Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by sarahnewell: Last night at the knitting group, I needed a refresher in casting on – do you? C it @madebymichell for a quick update: http://bit.ly/aKZwdr


Leave a Reply

