It’s All In the (Dress) Details

A few weeks back I wrote about a dress I was making for my husband’s goddaughter, Noelle. I’ve been slowly working on it in between projects, but now I’m trying to focus on it full force, lest Noelle turn two before she receives it. The pattern was designed by a woman named Irina who works at Downtown Yarns. She’s a seriously good knitter and the pattern is relatively easy. Making the skirt, which I am doing now, is a bit tedious with row after row of stockinette stitch. (The first time I made this dress I was so happy to have completed the front, only to realize that I still needed to knit the back. Sigh…) But the monotony is worth it. Once it’s complete, the dress drapes beautifully and will see Noelle through at least two seasons. Here’s where I’m at so far. I’m planning on working on it more tonight when our knitting group meets, although how much knitting will get done remains to be seen, what with all of the catching up and noshing to look forward to!

Below is a closeup of the hem, which gives the edge of the skirt a nice flounce.

3 Comments

  1. christie said,

    March 4, 2010 at 11:41 am

    beautiful work! love the detail on the hem.

  2. April 28, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    […] not a mindless knit. They take a lot of concentration, which is why I’ve been working on this project in between others. But I finally decided that if I wanted Noelle to be able to wear the dress while […]

  3. Baby Dress said,

    November 28, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    […] not a mindless knit. They take a lot of concentration, which is why I’ve been working on this project in between others. But I finally decided that if I wanted Noelle to be able to wear the dress while […]


Leave a Reply

