Pass the Quinoa

I’ve been wanting to make quinoa for awhile now because it’s not only tasty, but it’s also a “complete” protein, meaning that it contains all eight essential amino acids. I’ve eaten quinoa several times (the Whole Foods on Bowery makes a Grain Shop salad with quinoa and wheat berry that’s to die for.)  and was looking for a fresh way to prepare it. So when I came upon a recipe on my foodie friend Anne’s fantastic blog, Poetic Appetite, for Farro with Broccoli, Walnuts and Golden Raisins, I decided to try substituting the farro with quinoa. I also substituted Thompson raisins because I couldn’t find goldens. The switch proved successful! I actually tried the recipe last week, but I added grilled chicken to the mix, and it was a bit overcooked. Tonight, I cooked the chicken cutlets separately and served the quinoa as a side, topped with grated Locatelli romano cheese. Delicious! And since dinner was so well-balanced, I am now treating myself to a little dark chocolate. (Who am I kidding? I’d be having the chocolate whether dinner was healthy or not!)

6 Comments

  1. Heather Hutchins said,

    March 2, 2010 at 9:01 am

    My dear Michelle,
    What are you doing making me drool over your delicious dinners? I love quinoa. Usually I sautee some veggies and chicken and add quinoa that had cooked in chicken broth and top with feta or goat cheese to soften it up. delish! that might have to be tonight’s dinner 🙂 happy cooking!

    • March 2, 2010 at 9:10 am

      I cooked the quinoa in chicken broth too! It gave it a nice flavor. Love the feta or goat cheese idea. I will have to try that!

  2. March 3, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    […] in, but oh they are delicious) leftover spinach, and a baked chicken cutlet from Monday’s meal that I cut into strips. I piled it all on and baked the pizza for 20 minutes. I served it with a […]

  3. May 24, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    […] 24, 2010 at 9:30 pm (Cooking) Next up in my experimentation with whole grains: wheat-berry. I’ve had wheat berry a few times in some of the prepared […]

  4. November 26, 2010 at 6:41 pm

    […] up in my experimentation with whole grains: wheat-berry. I’ve had it a few times in some of the prepared salads at […]

  5. November 26, 2010 at 7:11 pm

    […] in, but oh they are delicious) leftover spinach, and a baked chicken cutlet from Monday’s meal that I cut into strips. I piled it all on and baked the pizza for 20 minutes. I served it with a […]


Leave a Reply

