Winter Wear

Handknit accessories definitely make snow days a bit more bearable. Last winter, I knit a ton of these head warmers ($20 plus S&H) pictured below. They’re a fun alternative to full on hats and relatively easy to make. I first saw them two winters ago in my favorite neighborhood yarn store, Downtown Yarns, and was told I could find the pattern, Calorimetry, on Knitty. The first one I made was huge, and stretched out way too much, so per a knitting friend’s suggestion, I cast on 100 stitches, rather than 120, for a perfect fit. Last year I knit them up with Noro Silk Garden, which comes in the most vivid color combinations, and then sewed a vintage wooden button onto the back from a stash I found in my mother’s old sewing basket. The result: headgear that’s trendy and toasty warm. Email me at madebymichellec@gmail.com to place your order!

1 Comment

  1. christie said,

    February 26, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    I do enjoy my head warmer! It certainly comes in handy in the blustery weather up in the tundra…


Leave a Reply

