Hat Tricks

My father asked me to make him a winter hat a couple of months ago, and I’m finally getting around to doing so. (My husband uses the analogy of the shoemaker’s children to illustrate my close family’s lack of Made By Michelle products. Hey, a girl can only knit so fast…) In any case, I used Zara merino wool in black and I thought I’d be able to get away with just one skein, but it looks like I’m going to need another to finish the top of the hat. Hats for adults can be tricky, because you definitely don’t want the hat to be too short (otherwise it will ride up around the ears) and it can be hard to judge when the person isn’t there to try it on as you go. I’ve knit it on a size 6 needle, using a K2, P2 rib, and I’m hoping that it fits snuggly, but not too tight. If it is too small for my dad,  I guess I could always keep it for myself. It fits me perfectly. 🙂 Hmmm…

1 Comment

  1. christie said,

    February 25, 2010 at 11:46 am

    Looks great. Your daddy’s head will be toasty warm in it. What a nice daughter you are 🙂


Leave a Reply

