Biscotti Basics

A few Christmases ago, I tried my hand at making biscotti and I was surprised at how easy it is. I use Giada De Laurentiis’s basic recipe and I pretty much know it by heart by now. The one thing you need in abundance when making biscotti is time. Once they bake for 30-40 minutes, they need to cool for half an hour before going back into the oven for another 15-20 minutes. I’m planning on making an assortment of biscotti for my cousin Heather’s baby shower in April, so I’ve been playing around with different combinations of add-ins (almond chocolate chip, double chocolate chip, etc). My husband favors a fruit and nut combo (and eats them practically as fast as I can make them!) so for a family gathering at his parents’ house this weekend, I made pistachio and dried cranberry biscotti, a perfect balance of sweet and savory. Here are the results. Nothing compliments a steaming cup of coffee like biscotti. It’s one of my favorite late afternoon snacks.

6 Comments

  1. christie said,

    February 25, 2010 at 11:48 am

    These look amazing! I agree, I love a cranberry nut combo. A very close second to anything chocolate. Yum. Wish I had one now.

  2. Debbie M said,

    February 25, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    I’m so glad I introduced you to this recipe. You seem to enjoy these cookies so much. I’ve been making them for a few years now. They always make a hit and I’ve been asked to share this recipe with almost everyone who tastes them. They’re also great dipped in white chocolate or dark chocolate like I did for your Bridal Shower. Enjoy!!!!!!

    • February 25, 2010 at 1:45 pm

      I am glad you shared it with me too! Johnny’s cousin made the chocolate chip anise version and I realized it’s exactly the same recipe, minus the lemon zest. I can’t believe how easy they are!

  3. June 21, 2010 at 10:19 am

    […] tags that matched Heather’s shower invitations, which she also designed. I baked two kinds of biscotti—cranberry walnut and almond chocolate chip—and filled a cellophane bag with one of each, before […]

  4. June 28, 2010 at 9:47 am

    […] 28, 2010 at 9:47 am (Cooking) As readers of this blog know, I love me some biscotti. I post about it frequently, and it’s one of my favorite afternoon snacks. It has fewer […]

  5. November 26, 2010 at 6:25 pm

    […] readers of this blog know, I love me some biscotti. I post about it frequently, and it’s one of my favorite afternoon snacks. It has fewer […]


Leave a Reply

